Home » April 2014 Poetry » April POEM-A_DAY~Day Four

April POEM-A_DAY~Day Four

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Since (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles include: “Since the Last Time I Smoked,” “Since You Said Please,” and “Since When.”

SINCE AWAKING
By John Yeo

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Since~~Awaking,
Drowsily, dreamily deliberating,
What happened?

I remember the light exploded,
I saw stars of bright shining light.
My journey was vivid and real
Colours were shining and dazzling through
A kaleidoscope of ever changing hue.

A peaceful influence intervened,
A power of cloudy splendour
Directly cradled my mind
In an intellectual bubble of calm,
With comfort and reassurance.

On awaking,
Reality provided an explanation,
The roof caved in and I suffered concussion.

Since awaking
I cannot relate to my previous life
And this world of contradiction,
I have tried to find my way back
To that other ethereal dimension.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Written by John Yeo © Copyright.
All rights reserved~

Leave a Reply

