Home » April 2014 Poetry » April POEM-A-DAY~Day FIVE

April POEM-A-DAY~Day FIVE

For today’s prompt, write a discovery poem. The narrator could discover an object, a person, an animal, a dishonorable deed, or any number of things. Poets can focus on the discovery, examine the aftermath, or even just mention it in passing.

DISCOVERY OF THE FAMILY TREE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Live your life with wit and courage
Nothing is sacred in this open age
Your provenance is on display
Your ancestors will follow age-old clues
To find their past to aid discovery 
Of their ancestors on their family tree.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My ancestors were a motley crew
The more I looked my curiosity grew
Like a bird of prey, I swooped 
Through much conjecture and supposition
I pulled back the curtains of the murky lives
My long forgotten family past soon revives.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Following the trails and the slender threads
Of my various ancestors, very widespread.
The list is endless of stalwart citizens
Yeoman farmers, and the very well bred
Soldiers, a thief, seeking fame and fortune 
A Priest a nun and  women of easy virtue.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I pulled back the curtains, 
Closing the windows of time. 
My personal curiosity satisfied,  
I made up my mind
The seeds of me are unique. 
 Recovery of the distant past remains
A mystery beyond true discovery. 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Copyright © Written by John Yeo.
All rights reserved
Leave a Reply

