Home » April 2014 Poetry » April~Poem-a-Day~Day 29~Magical Realism Poem

April~Poem-a-Day~Day 29~Magical Realism Poem

The final Two-for-Tuesday prompt for this month is:

  • Write a realism poem. A poem that is rooted in the real world. Or…
  • Write a magical poem. A poem that incorporates magical or fantastical elements.

Or write like Gabriel Garcia Marquez and do both!

The  Rude Awakening

By John Yeo

I drifted freely in a magical sky

With my wings outstretched I began to fly,

From cloud to cloud through the intense blue

I drifted and danced my way to you.

I passed a magical fish flying by

Swimming in the Cerulean Sapphire sky.

A voice broke into my high journey

From across the shores of the skyful sea.

Half aware and still flying free

I wondered who could be calling to me.

I was rudely brought back to reality.

When I awoke from my magical reverie.

Get out of bed! It is getting late!

Breakfast is ready and it will not wait.

I crawled out to face another cold day

On my bike in the rain, and on my way,

Soaked to the skin, in the heartless city,

From a magical dream I faced harsh reality.

Copyright © Written by John Yeo

All rights reserved.

.

Leave a Reply

