Home » Writing101 » JUNE 25, 2014 Writing 101, Day Eighteen: Hone Your Point of View

JUNE 25, 2014 Writing 101, Day Eighteen: Hone Your Point of View

Craft a story from the perspective of a twelve-year-old observing it all. For your twist, focus on specific character qualities, drawing from elements we’ve worked on in this course, like voice and dialogue.

Today’s prompt: write this story in first person, told by the twelve-year-old sitting on the stoop across the street.

The neighbourhood has seen better days, but Mrs. Pauley has lived there since before anyone can remember. She raised a family of six boys, who’ve all grown up and moved away. Since Mr. Pauley died three months ago, she’d had no income. She’s fallen behind in the rent. The landlord, accompanied by the police, have come to evict Mrs. Pauley from the house she’s lived in for forty years.

GROWING UP

Written by John Yeo

 I have been chucked out of the house by me Mum and Dad, they reckon I have been very naughty. Dad clipped me around the ear, all because I was hungry and scoffed that piece of chicken from the fridge. I s’pose, I can only sit here on the step. My friends William and Tommy are indoors now, having supper in the warm. Some of the older kids from the block went past in an old banger of a car, laughing loudly and shouting. I know they are the ones who do the drawings and words all over the walls in the street. My Dad says they should be locked up.

 Wow! The police have turned up across the road, with another man in a big flash car. They keep on knocking on No.39, Mrs Pauley’s door, there is no reply, she’s not answering. The man crosses the road and talks to me. “Hallo youngster, do you know Mrs Pauley? Is she at home?     “Yes Mister, I know her but I have not seen her”. I watch him walk back to join the police who are checking around the back of the house.

 My Mum has heard me talking to someone, “What’s going on?”

“Nothing Mum, I’m being good, just watching the police at Mrs Pauley’s house”.

“What?”

Mum rushes across the road to talk to the man with the big flash car.

“Now don’t you get involved, Mrs Yates,” The man shouts. “We have come to see Mrs, Pauley, she has paid no rent for three months and I need to re-let the property”

My Mum shouted back at this man, calling him an unfeeling leech, only interested in making a profit.

The police calm things down and say they will have to break the door down.

A few minutes later, I see a flashing blue light as an ambulance arrives. They bring poor old Mrs Pauley out on a stretcher, she is very sick. My Mum is telling Dad, they don’t think she will survive the journey to hospital.

We all go indoors and I overhear them talking about Mrs Pauley.

“It’s a shame, she has six sons, someone should have come to see her and sort her bills out. They should have looked after her”

 

Copyright © ~Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-22

 

 

2 thoughts on “JUNE 25, 2014 Writing 101, Day Eighteen: Hone Your Point of View

Leave a Reply

