Home » Poetry prompts » MALFUNCTION

MALFUNCTION

ROBERT LEE BREWER’S WEDNESDAY POETRY PROMPT.
http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/wednesday-poetry-prompts-277
For today’s prompt, write a malfunction poem. Yes, I changed today’s originally planned prompt to fit today’s circumstances. Sometimes you just gotta have that kind of flexibility. However, not everyone handles malfunction the same: some roll with the punches, some throw punches, some throw fits, some quit, some try again, and so on. Plus, there’s any number of malfunctions out there: wardrobe malfunctions, mechanical malfunctions, and heck, I think many of my poems suffer a malfunction or three. Let’s get at it.

MALFUNCTION

By John Yeo

 I have just had some very sad news,
My memory has not been too great
of late.
I forget what the Doctor actually said
Somehow I wasn’t in tune.
I had a vision that was too good to lose,
I felt the influence too sad to waste
or replace.
The Nurse took me home, I forget what she said,
I can almost hum the tune.
I got lost last week in our local mews,
It was scary to be alone in that place,
hard to retrace
the steps I took to my familiar homestead.
How did that music resume?
My family made me an offer too good to refuse,
I will go to paradise, a room of my own,
in a nursing home.
With many lovely people with blank friendly faces.
I am sure the tune will come to me soon.

Copyright © Written by John Yeo All rights reserved.

IMG_3281

2 thoughts on “MALFUNCTION

Leave a Reply

