Home » Ermilia » THE LEGACY

THE LEGACY

This is the latest “Picture it and Write” prompt from Ermilia’s blog

http://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2014/10/26/__picture-it-write-93/

Ermilia's Tattooed Hand

As usual the image is supplied and credited by Ermilia

THE LEGACY
by John Yeo

I am a story that is still in the telling. I entered the family profession as a boy in India. My life as a mahout started very early, when I was assigned Dattiji, a very young elephant. My training began, and my elephant and I grew up together.
I used my hook and trained Dattiji to trust me alone, Dattiji used his natural friendliness and loyalty to train me. We became very close, I slept with my elephant ate my food with my elephant, we spent our lives together.
One night, I was awoken very early in the morning to frightening screams of agony from Dattiji. I then realised that Ganesh, the Indian god of elephants had arrived to take Dattiji to heaven. I was heartbroken at the loss of my elephant.
I designed an image of the eternal elephant spirit, decorated with a spiritual headdress.  A very good friend, a skilled artist, tattooed my creation on my hand. I now have a permanent memory to carry wherever I go, of my elephant friend Dattiji.
Many people ask me about this unusual design and I now take commissions to design and create unique works of art.
I could never go back to my first profession as a mahout, I know I will never find another friend like Dattiji.
Ermilia's Tattooed Hand
Copyright © Written by John Yeo, All rights reserved.

image

Leave a Reply

