Home » Flash fiction » ONCE ~100 Word challenge ~Velvet Verbosity

ONCE ~100 Word challenge ~Velvet Verbosity

MEMORY

by John Yeo

Granddad, what do you see?
I see visions of life before you were born
Hardship and poverty on the farm.
Up at dawn, out in the fields
Working through till dusk.

~

Granddad, what do you feel?
I feel sorrow at the wars and violence now,
The fighting and the hunger far away
Children dying of thirst and disease
I am too old to intervene now.

~

Granddad, what would you change?
I would fight for truth and war renounce
I would spread my wings and travel
To lands far away to help the poor
I was as young as you, ONCE.

IMG_5656

100 words in response to the latest challenge

on the word “Once”

(c) Written by John Yeo

3 thoughts on “ONCE ~100 Word challenge ~Velvet Verbosity

Leave a Reply

