Home » Flash fiction » Cup ~ 100 Word Challenge ~ Velvet Verbosity

Cup ~ 100 Word Challenge ~ Velvet Verbosity

100 words on the word “CUP” in response to the latest challenge from VELVET VERBOSITY
http://www.velvetverbosity.com/blog/2015/2/23/100-words-415-empty-your-cup

image

Anglo Saxon Loving Cup

by John Yeo

Olga and Igor were to be married in the traditional tribal way. The two families had agreed terms and the villagers were gathered for the symbolic ceremony of exchanging swords. Igor the groom said,  “I give you this sword to save for our sons, to have and to use.”  Olga gave Igor a sword, with the words, “I give you this sword to keep us safe.”
They both then shared a loving cup to toast the Gods Frigja and Freya, the Goddesses who ensure a good marriage. The ceremonial loving cup was kept safely, shining for the future wedding ceremonies. 

Copyright ©  Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

IMG_5656

6 thoughts on “Cup ~ 100 Word Challenge ~ Velvet Verbosity

  1. Nice work.

    I am brand new to this 100 word challenge. I only noticed it yesterday when I took a look at Tara’s site.While I am still keen I am going to enter the next challenge. I am both OLD and NEW. Old in age, yet NEW in writing.

    John, how did you get that copyright protection?
    I wouldn’t mind putting something on that on my creations.
    And does it have to be exactly 100 words?

    Cheers
    JB

    • Thanks for your very supportive comment John~ Yes the post does have to be exactly 100 words 🙂 I usually have to do some paring and boning before I submit the write ~ You will probably hear from VW afer you have posted your first response~ I will send you a very informative link on copyright protection to your e-mail address. Nice to have met you here 🙂

Leave a Reply

