Home » Poetry » APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY SEVENTEEN~ SWING POEM:

APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY SEVENTEEN~ SWING POEM:

For today’s prompt, write a swing poem. Sure, there are park swings and mood swings; there’s swing music and swing dancing; and there are swingers. Some people swing one way; others swing another. In politics, there are swing votes and swing states. And many people have swung a bat, an ax, and/or a hammer in their lifetimes.

image

Image © Copyright John and Margaret

SWING POEM

by John Yeo

Thoughts drift as I lie here,

I remember my days at school.

Wooden desks and dipping pens,

Playtime in the playground.

 

“Wake up John! Please come back.”

The distant words hardly penetrate

My dreamy haze of thought.

I swing from the present, back in time.

 

I remember the country lanes as a boy,

The sun always seemed to shine.

Fishing with a pole on the local canal,

Then on to secondary school.

 

My mind jolts as the voice repeats,

“Wake up John! Please come back.”

I swing from the past to the present,

Then I swing into dreaming again.

 

“Open your eyes John, I am here”

I swing back to the now with love.

The healing sound of love in your voice,

“Come back please, I need you here! “

 

You stroke my head, my mind swings forward,

I take your tender hand.

“I am never going to leave you, ever,

I am sure you understand.”

 

Copyright (c) Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic asides blog on “Writers Digest”

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2015-april-pad-challenge-day-17

8 thoughts on “APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY SEVENTEEN~ SWING POEM:

Leave a Reply

