Home » Poetry » APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY-TWO~ NATURE POEM:

APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY-TWO~ NATURE POEM:

For today’s prompt, write a nature poem. For many poets, the first thing that may pop to mind includes birds, trees, waterfalls, rivers, and such. But there’s also human nature, nature vs. nurture, and other things natural, including natural selection and being a “natural” at something. Let your nature take it where it will today

sv105210

Copyright IMAGE © John and Margaret

NATURE OR NURTURE

by John Yeo

Are you a product of nature

Or were you built by nurture?

Please explain what makes you tick.

The question is surely a trick

A kick to gain advantage.

 

To ask me if I considered

If it was natural to be nurtured

Or if nurture is human nature

A natural way to behave.

 

Did I inherit all I am

From my inbuilt genes.

Or did my environment

Programme me to behave?

 

I am simply a natural person

Following my own human nature,

Which was nurtured by loves example

And disciplined to conform.

 

I have been a natural survivor

Since the day I was born.

 

Copyright (c) Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic asides blog on “Writers Digest”

http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/2015-april-pad-challenge-day-22

.

Leave a Reply

