Home » Poetry » APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY-FOUR~ MOMENT POEM:

APRIL~ ”POEM-A-DAY”~DAY TWENTY-FOUR~ MOMENT POEM:

For today’s prompt, write a moment poem. The moment can be a big moment or small moment; it can be a good moment or horrible moment; it can affect thousands or matter to just one person. Some moments happen in crowded rooms; some happen in the most quiet of spaces. Find yours and write a poem.

SV109878

Image © Copyright ~ John and Margaret

THE HEAD MAN’S DECISION

by John Yeo

I made up my mind to take action

Entirely fed up with the situation

I decided to make a firm decision

To resolve the ongoing friction.

 

The moment passed in a flash

My finger was on the button.

Do you realise what you are doing?

Have you thought of the side effects?

 

I stopped and my finger hovered,

I had thought the whole thing through,

The good that would come of the effect.

I firmly returned to my intention.

 

I thought of the change this would bring

To the future of my head appearance

I looked in the mirror, raised the can

Then firmly pressed the button.

 

A jet of hairspray solved the problem.

 

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

Written for Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic asides blog on “Writers Digest”

Leave a Reply

