Home » Ermilia » Picture it and Write ~ THE VISION OF GOLD

Picture it and Write ~ THE VISION OF GOLD

This is the latest Picture it and Write prompt from Ermilia’s blog

https://ermiliablog.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/__picture-it-write-109/

image

Sculpture by Mark Newman

As usual the image is supplied and credited by Ermilia

THE VISION OF GOLD

by John Yeo

The classical statue was drawing many people to the exhibition. A young nymph seated on a tree trunk shaped to fit her slender body. A tree nymph, the expression of pride and self assurance in her features drew many to question who she was in life. A lady stood transfixed, stunned into a silence that I felt almost sorry to break.

I asked. “Who was she?”

“A member of the Trojan royal family,” came the almost reluctant reply. “I may be related to her.”

“Her hair gives me the impression of ropes, tangled into a helmet secured with a rose,” I said.

“They are a blend of corded gold and consist of many fine hairs, rolled and shaped.”

I took a sideways glance at my companion, who had her head covered with a scarf.

“You say you may be related!” I went on, noting a strange resemblance in the facial features.

“Yes! That necklet is our family emblem, the women always wore one to protect them from evil.”

Then the lady opened her raincoat to reveal an exquisite neck adornment, exactly the same as the statuesque wood nymph was wearing.

“You have many facial features in common, but surely that is a coincidence as the statue is very old.” I remarked.

“Age is a numerical fiction I do not recognise.” She replied.

I was stunned as she proceeded to remove her headscarf to reveal her beautifully corded golden hair, dazzling to the eyes. There was a sudden flash of blinding white light that burned and momentarily blinded my eyes. When my sight returned the vision of warm golden woman had gone, leaving a cold marble replication behind. 

I now come here every day searching for her.

Copyright (c) Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

image

One thought on “Picture it and Write ~ THE VISION OF GOLD

Leave a Reply

