Home » Aspiring writers » WEIGHTLESSNESS

WEIGHTLESSNESS

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers ~ Writing challenge.

https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com

Hosted by Priceless Joy.

The goal is to write a story between 100-150 words (give or take 25 words) based on the provided photo.

IMG_9109

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Pixabay.com

WEIGHTLESSNESS

by John Yeo

 “Ferdinand, I have to go to Weight-Watchers this morning, I have a weigh-in.  Last week I came out two pounds over my recommended body-weight. I keep telling that gruesome coordinator that I am heavy boned, and the more calcium I ingest the heavier I become. I think I will have to consider some elementary changes to decrease my bone-density. I was far heavier when I wore flesh, l needed a lot of food-intake to keep the whole apparatus alive.”

   “Yes Esmeralda my dear.” Thought Ferdinand, breaking into the interminable flow of thoughts.
  “Have you seen my robes? I will need to cover up if I am to leave the crypt, I am sure they are around somewhere. Last time I wore them was on Halloween night when we went out haunting together. I do resent having to go all the way to a public crypt to a Weight Watchers session. The rattle of all those dangling bones would be unbearable if we had any ears to hear with.”
“Yes Esmeralda my dear.” Ferdinand replied.

(174 WORDS)

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved.

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

13 thoughts on “WEIGHTLESSNESS

  1. Hahahaha! I think the participants of Weight Watchers have taken this weight loss thing a little too far! LOL!! Cute story John! I love the part about the “the rattle of the dangling bones.” Hahaha!

  2. Ha! It’s funny, but sad that not even in death are we free from the heaviness of life, such as the overbearing wife and worrying about weight! Big Boned! I’m going to use that one at my next meeting lol

    • Good luck ~ I reckon bone density is a huge addition on the weigh-in scales. My wife has no truck with my theory though. Thanks for reading and commenting. 🙂

  3. Funny! I think the robes may be with someone’s Halloween costumes! They may be used next year! It’s a shame that Weight Watchers is still necessary when you are down to bones! Doesn’t give much hope to the Weight Watchers that are struggling right now to get down to size! 🙂

    • Oh! Jessie ~ I think that weight loss after death is a slow but sure process, leading to a balanced weight. Old ingrained weight-watching habits die hard even in the after-life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

