Home » Fiction » DISTRESS CALL

DISTRESS CALL

A Prompt Response for Flasher Friday

http://ourwriteside.com/friday-flasher-seat/

SAM_4957

DISTRESS CALL

By John Yeo

 I woke with a screwed-up face, distorted at the intrusive sound of my cell phone, jangling urgently, aggravatingly, to grab my attention. The digits on the phone registered 11.30pm!

“Hi, Carl here! What”s up?”

“Hello is that the 24/7, TV repair service?”

I cursed inwardly. ‘Why the heck did I advertise a 24-hour service? That was Mary’s dumb fool idea. You will make a fortune in call-out charges, she had said.’
“Yes, Carl here! How can I help?”

“The TV has just packed up during an important newscast! We need to get the thing working again, to be able to find out news of flash floods in our area, our houseboat is moored by the river?” An agitated male voice was on the line.

“Hold on!” I replied. “Are you sure you want me to come and fix it at this time of the night? I have to inform you our callout charges are high, and I may not have the parts on the van. I will need to know the make of your TV now, and what exactly happened when your TV stopped working.”

“Oh, I don’t care about the cost! Just come and fix it, I will pay you well. The TV stopped, just like that!”

   “Whereabouts exactly are you?” I asked, sighing inwardly.

  “The Moorings opposite, 37 Canal Street.”

“OK! I’ll be there in about fifteen minutes.” I said, dragging myself out of bed, throwing on my overalls and heading for the door. The wind was blowing a force nine gale with driving rain, I cursed as I jumped in my van and headed for the canal. As I reached number 37, I saw a figure on the dark towpath ahead, outside a long, well lit up houseboat, waiting. The man was thickset, well-built, with a shock of red hair.
  “Hi!” I said, “TV repairman?”

   “Yeah! Come aboard. The TV just stopped working, I dunno what happened, but we need it urgently as it is the only way we can keep informed.”

   As I entered the lounge on the houseboat I almost tripped over a pair of what looked like human legs sticking out from behind a long seat. Ignoring the implications of this I started to work on the TV set, and simply put in a new fuse, then switched it on, it was working perfectly.

   “That’ll be £150 pounds please?” I said, nervously pondering on the strange pair of legs that were clearly visible under the seat.

Suddenly they moved as a tall blonde young lady, wearing nothing but a life jacket, leaped out from behind the seat. “How much?” she asked in a shocked voice.
I recognised her instantly as a well-known celebrity, married to a clergyman. 

  “Don’t worry Darling!” exclaimed the man and peeled the money from a wad of notes, handing it to me. “ Keep quiet about who you have seen here. OK, fella!”

I took the money And left without a word.
(495 WORDS)


Copyright Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved

This is my response to a prompt from Our Write Side to their Friday Flasher prompt. A short story in no more than 500 Words using four elements

  • A TV repairman (Character)
  • Under a Seat (Place)
  • Night (Time)
  • Life Jacket (Object)

Follow this link To comment, Join in and have fun

Friday Flasher

Friday Flasher: Under A Seat

5 thoughts on “DISTRESS CALL

  1. Well done! I enjoyed the humor of the legs – clearly visible, but everyone going about like they weren’t there. The mental image of a woman wearing nothing but a life jacket objecting about the call out fee was funny and striking!

    Constructive critique: in the first part you used first person, then switched to third person for the rest.

    • Thanks NCN ~ I’m glad you enjoyed this and thanks for the constructive critique. I have adjusted the post accordingly. Funny I hadn’t noticed that! Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

