Home » Fiction » CHARGE AND RECHARGE

CHARGE AND RECHARGE

Prompt response based on the word of the day ~6th January 2016 ~ CHARGE

http://daily.wordreference.com/2017/01/06/intermediate-word-of-the-day-charge/

img_1724

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

CHARGE and RECHARGE

by John Yeo

    “Well Sir! I’m pleased to say there will be no charge for your meal. The manager has decided that in view of the extenuating circumstances, your meal will be free of charge. On the house!” said the waiter respectfully.

    “Call the manager here at once; it is not good enough to waive the charge. I think you have recognised me as an undercover inspector charged with rooting out unhygienic premises and publicly highlighting the dangers.” replied the man in the grey suit.

“Certainly Sir.”

    Almost immediately a breathless manager charged up to the guests table, looking extraordinarily flustered.

      “Can I help you Sir, I’m sorry for the delay, I was remonstrating with a member of staff who was trying to charge his mobile device using a power point in the kitchen that is needed for other purposes.”

    “Are you the manager here man? Are you supposed to be in charge of these premises? I am here to evaluate this restaurant after reports have been filed of unhygienic practices. I find the the charges absolutely sound and I intend to report back to my employers who will now file criminal charges. In my opinion your establishment is a danger to the public and should be closed down.”

The unsatisfied diner seemed to be enjoying the effect he

was having and was now smiling gleefully.

At that moment another diner interrupted the conversation and addressed the manager directly.

    “If I were you Sir, I would ask to see this man’s credentials, I am an undercover police officer, we have been following this fraudulent person around for months. He gets a free meal under false pretences and then laughs, he seems to get a charge out of his behaviour. I’ll take charge of the situation from here.”

 Turning to the the diner the police officer said, “What have you got to say for yourself?”

    “I think there has been some mistake. Charge my meal to this card please: I have an urgent appointment. Take an extra £50 to cover this unfortunate situation and I will be on my way.” the man spluttered, clearly flustered at this turn of events.

    The manager quickly accepted the card and charged the meal.
The manager smiled and returned the card to the diner. Grinning broadly he said to him.

   “You should have asked to see my brother’s credentials. Have a nice day Sir. And don’t come back here again ever! Goodbye!”

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved
 

Leave a Reply

