“You Never Expected a Call From Me.”

IMG_1851

“You never expected a call from me.”

by John Yeo

I usually don’t respond to an unexpected call as we have a well tried and excellent answerphone machine that seems to be enough to field any unexpected calls.

“Congratulations! Your lottery ticket has finally come up and I’m pleased to inform you. You have won a substantial prize. Please don’t ask about the ticket. I’m pleased to inform you that you are one of our random winners.”

Alarm bells immediately began to go off in my head, I have heard about these sort of scams, where all the caller is after really are your financial details.

“Look  here! You insolent piece of garbage.” I began. “You can take your lottery winnings and stuff the tickets up the rear end of a Bull. Wait in the vicinity and shovel up the proceeds and spread it on the garden.”

 “But Sir! This is a genuine call. You really are a millionaire. Are you seriously giving the proceeds to myself? I certainly could do with the money. I will of course donate a certain sum to charity on behalf of both of us.”

This stopped me in my tracks at once. Supposing, just supposing. No it couldn’t possibly be true, things like this never happened to me.

“You are having me on;” I responded.

“No Sir! I would like to thank you for your generosity, The children will be in touch to say thank you personally. I will see to that. I don’t need your signature as you have no ticket therefore the transfer of funds will be channelled directly to myself.”

“Goodbye now Sir, Have fun with the Bulls.”

The next day I searched the newspapers for the story related to a telephone salesperson now believed to be sunning himself in Majorca.

We are suffering the first of our April showers here. After all it  was the first of April yesterday.

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All rights reserved