Home » Ermilia » PICTURE IT AND WRITE ~ AUTHENTIC ARGUMENT

PICTURE IT AND WRITE ~ AUTHENTIC ARGUMENT

This is a latest Picture it and Write prompt from Emilia’s blog ~23rd February 

https://ermiliablog.wordpress.com

mason-jar-makeup

As usual the image is supplied and credited by Emilia

Today I thought I would combine my blog Post with an exercise in Writing Practice from here

http://thewritepractice.com/conditional-sentences

 

Conditional Sentences


“A conditional sentence is a sentence that describes a hypothetical situation, like an action or event, and the result of that situation.

Confused? Here’s an easy way to think about it: a conditional sentence can usually use the words “if” and “then.”

 

Here’s an example: from me based on my Prompt response to follow

IF modern makeup is used in a Shakespeare play, THEN it can’t be called an authentic performance.

AUTHENTIC ARGUMENT

by John Yeo

 

A letter received by a would-be Hamlet.

 

THE AUTHENTIC SHAKESPEARE COMPANY

Stratford-Upon-Avon.

 

Dear Sir.

 We are pleased to inform you that your application to play Hamlet in our current production has been successful. In view of your extensive past experience of playing this role, and the excellent performance you treated us to at the interview. Please report to the director at the theatre next Wednesday morning, where you will meet the rest of the cast.

Yours faithfully,

 

Wednesday at the Authentic theatre

“Hello Luvvies, wonderful to meet you all, I am here to replace your leading man, I hear he is not very well, I’m sorry to hear that. I’m William! I understand if we have a successful informal rehearsal first, then we can have a full dress rehearsal this afternoon.”

 “That’s right William, Grab a stool and start following the lines when we begin, you were very impressive during the interview, everyone was amazed at the way you read your lines from memory.”

 

    Later in the pub, the talk is all about the wonderful, trouble free rehearsal of the morning and the full dress rehearsal to follow, this afternoon.

 “William have another good home brewed stout! Sorry they don’t serve sack here, perhaps if we ask them to order some especially for you, then you can enjoy it while you are working here!”

  “Fine thanks! I won’t have another drink now. If I drink too much then I will be heady this afternoon.” Replied William.

 Back at the theatre, William is shown to the star’s dressing room. “Here are your costumes they are made to an authentic Elizabethan design. Good job you are the same build as our previous leading man. The makeup artiste will be along shortly.”

    “WHAT! I was under the impression this was an authentic production. Shakespeare would never have applied modern day makeup. I am not a circus clown man!  I would like to see the Director.” Shouted William irritably. “Get him at once!”

  “Yes Sir!” Said the stage hand.

 The Director arrived and was stunned to hear about this turn of events.

William shouted at him, before he could open his mouth.  “IF I am expected to have this muck applied to my face, THEN I refuse to play the part.

 I will refer this non-authenticity to the trades description department of the Lord Chancellor’s Office.

mason-jar-makeup

Copyright © Written by John Yeo ~ All Rights Reserved.

image

 

One thought on “PICTURE IT AND WRITE ~ AUTHENTIC ARGUMENT

  1. I loved the way you combined the two prompts. I was considering the merits of modern makeup vs. recreating Shakespearean makeup and the consequence for actresses of an authentic Shakespearean performance before your piece even began. Bravo.

Leave a comment